Reverting to “Classic Skype” on macOS

In the middle of December 2017, Microsoft rolled out New Skype. Although the look and feel is simple and fun, it removed a lot of the options power users were used to. Reverting to previous software versions can be tedious and even hazardous depending on where you get the older version. Fortunately, Skype openly offers Classic Skype for those wanting to go back to the Skype they had before the December 2017 update.

Here’s how you revert to Skype Classic.


1. QUIT: Make sure Skype is not running. Quit out of it.

2. RENAME: Go into your Applications folder on your hard drive. Rename “Skype” to “Skype (New).” You do not have to delete it. Just rename it.

Note: You can delete New Skype (version if you have no intention of ever using it. You can use Classic Skype (version 7.59.37) instead. If you plan on using both versions, they cannot have the same name.

3. REMOVE: If you had Skype in your dock, remove it. If there is a shortcut anywhere else, delete it.

4. SKYPE.COM: Go to this webpage. Note that this is an official Skype download page. You are not downloading it from a shady website. Skype offers the Classic version for download.

5. DROPDOWN MENU: Your browser will auto-detect your operating system. Don’t click download. To the right of the button, you’ll see an arrow. Click that arrow.

6. DOWNLOAD: Go down to Get Classic Skype.

7.  OPEN: It will download the .dmg file. Wait for it to download completely. Then open it.

8. INSTALL: This should bring up the Skype icon on the left and a shortcut to your Application folder on the right. Drag the Skype logo into the folder. It will install.

9. OPEN SKYPE: Once it’s installed, run Skype. Remember, it’s called “Skype” and NOT “Skype (New)”.

10. LOG INLog in to Skype. (It may already have your password stored and will automatically log you in.)

11. IMMEDIATELY go to Skype > Preferences in the top bar. UNCHECK “Always keep Skype up to date”. That way, it won’t auto-update on launch.